Figure 1: Transcriptional Coregulators of KLF Isoforms

KLF isoforms can be divided into 3 groups based on their interaction motifs for transcriptional co-activators and co-repressors. Group 1 includes KLFs which contain the CtBP binding motif. Group 2 includes KLFs which contain the Sin3A interaction domain. Group 3 includes KLFs which interact with acetyl-transferases. KLF = Krüppel-like factor; CBP = cAMP response element binding protein; CtBP = C-terminal binding protein; HDAC = deacetylases; NF-κB = nuclear factor–κB; P/CAF = p300/CBP-associated factor; PGC-1 = PPARγ coactivator 1.